Literary snapshot- 23rd October

Tried reading a book in the living room, couldn’t concentrate over the noise from the TV. Was going to my room to wake up His Royal Highness/Mr. Sleeping Beauty, when as usual, I got mesmerized by the glimpse of the view from the balcony. Like a firefly seeing light, I changed course and made a beeline for the balcony. It calls to me. I can hear it. That sense of serenity and quiet that only comes from a place high up above the hustle and bustle of life beneath. The city spread out before me like a blanket of fallen stars, as far as the eye can see. Oh, how I love it. The black abyss of the ocean to the right, with the glittering lights of distant boats sprinkled along the horizon. Like twinkling jewels forever placed tantalizingly out of reach. Running through the darker swathes of urban domesticity I see the main roads, the veins, the lifeline of the city. Only on them do I see movement and signs of life. The many houses beneath me, apartments, towers, mosques, malls, restaurants, shops, parks, and otherwise general places of doing business; all hidden, tucked away under their neat little walls and roofs, hiding their innumerable stories from me. I wonder all the time. Such stories, such mysteries, and me, wondering from my little nook high up above it all, disjointed, unconnected. These thoughts coupled with the light breeze on my face and the awe inspiring realization of the sheer amount of emptiness that separates me from them on my high tower fills my heart with a loneliness that seems almost sweet. One wants to fly out above it all, drinking in the wind and the blinding lights of the city; alone yet at one with the world.

 

PS. I just realized its our two month anniversary. Alhamdulillah. 🙂 Must go tell him the good news.

About thejawavillager

I am a mad scientist with an underground lab rivaling Dexter's that I will soon use to rule the world. Join my army or be killed in the aftermath.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Literary snapshot- 23rd October

  1. Audrey says:

    Thank you! Beautiful imagery! I felt that lonely, sweet emotion in Saudi.

    • Thank you for reading!
      I never got around to telling you how much I appreciated you reaching out and messaging my husband. He was very impressed that I had such a lasting impression on a teacher from my childhood. He is wonderful to me, and knows just how special I am, so don’t you worry. Thank you again, can’t tell you how blessed I am to have known such amazing people like you.

  2. hiba321 says:

    aah i can feel the tranquility simply by reading your words about it! mashAllah i hope you’re always surrounded by such peace and beauty inshaAllahh.

    xxxxx

    PS: LOLL @ mr. sleeping beauty awww :”))

  3. eva626 says:

    you’re married!? wow congrats! happy 2 years!!!

Leave a Reply

