What is wrong with the world?

A complete lack of empathy, apparently.

Listen to this clip. Something had happened and I couldn’t sleep. Please remember that this was my first time recording my voice and it was really weird in the beginning. Like, I’d start saying what I wanted to say and get distracted by the sound of my own voice. I’d talk, and as soon as I’d try to simultaneously notice if my voice sounded weird, I’d lose my train of thought. Then I’d have to run after the train as it went round my head and jump on in the last minute and complete my sentence. And excuse the bad grammar. I’m cringing as I put this up. (For example, I started off saying the word ‘unforgivable’ and switched over, mid-word, to say inexcusable, only to end up saying ‘unexcusable’. Even spell-check is mocking me with a squiggly red line under it.)I SWEAR I DON’T SOUND SO STUPID IN REAL LIFE, and neither do I use the words’ yeah’ and ‘like’ as much. God, I sound so retarded! I couldn’t do a proper retake, because I tried it, and it ended up sounding repetitious, like I’d lost steam. Anyway, here it is.

In case you’re wondering, I did go to school the next day, and I was pretty pissed off all day. Had a splitting headache too. Every time I would see that kid act all normal my stomach would curl. He avoided me in the beginning, and I acted normal. He relaxed towards the end of the day, which was when I had my talk. I didn’t say nearly as much as I wanted to, because it didn’t seem like he was going to see the err of his ways or think that I wasn’t doing this merely because of my brother. I really wish now that I’d been as harsh as I should have, not because of what he did to my brother, but because what he did was wrong, period. My reaction would honestly have been the same had it been someone else he’d done the same thing to.

Oh well, the only thing he can do now to redeem himself would be to apologize, but I seriously doubt he has what it takes to do so.

About thejawavillager

I am a mad scientist with an underground lab rivaling Dexter's that I will soon use to rule the world. Join my army or be killed in the aftermath.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What is wrong with the world?

  1. foraredrose says:

    Hey jawa! I’m so sorry that you have to deal with this everyday – and I totally agree about kids being more self-absorbed and having bigger attitudes these days. Gosh I sound like an old fogey or something xD I don’t really know what to say about the situation with your brother, because that kid might think you’re playing favorites or something, but maybe if you are really strict with all of the conflicts you witness in class, that’ll get the message across to him too? And after all, there is only so much you can do as a teacher – you are awesome for caring about this so much! *Hugs* ❤

    • Thank you! And no, you don’t sound old at all, it’s perfectly true, what you’re saying. Kids these days are so SMART. The cunning kind. And I do deal with all conflicts in school in the same way. I just hope it makes even a little bit of difference in these kids. *hugs back* WHEN ARE YOU MAKING YOUR OWN BLOG? I think you’d be awesome at it.

  2. alua says:

    I hear you.

    First of all, take a deep breath. Try not to let these kind of things get to you. I know it’s hard.

    Do whine. You’ve got to let it out, like you say.

    If I were in Jawaville, I would take you for a drink. Not necessarily literally… but yeah, a friend and colleague, she’d grab me in my first year of teaching whenever I had super-frustrating days like that, and she’d say ‘We are going for a drink. NOW.’ So we did, and whined about students and teaching while eating fried green plantains or eating pizza (maybe once we did actually have a drink – but not Korean style, to the point of drunkenness). And feel much better after that.

    Anyhow, if I were in Jawaville, I’d grab you and seat in front of a TV or computer, and we’d do a k-drama marathon – drama of your choice. 🙂

    With regards to the situation with the kid: you talked to him, now let it go. Yeah, he might not apologise. He might not feel bad at all – but you talked to him, and that’s all you can do. Hopefully you planted a seed somewhere in him – and you might have. Sometimes these things take a while to digest, but it might mean something to him.

    Don’t worry about sounding weird on the recording – everyone’s voice sounds weird recorded!

    • I’d like for you to come visit! 😀 You quite literally are the voice of reason.
      And yeah, I have let it go. I hope the same, that somewhere in him he’s realized that he did something wrong. I know I’m no Yankumi, I cannopt straighten out the world. Thank you Alua, your comments always make me happy.

      • alua says:

        Doesn’t it just say everything about us that I know who you are talking about when you say Yankumi and you know that you can say Yankumi without any further explanations? LOL…

        Glad I managed to cheer you a bit!

  3. eva626 says:

    ill have to listen to this tomorrow…i feel too lazy to grab my headphones out of the draws.

    i cant wait!

Leave a Reply

