Unforeseen side-effects: What K-dramas have done to me

Frills. Lace. Pearls. More frills. Short ultra-feminine dresses. GIRL CLOTHES.
WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME??? A few days ago I went shopping with a friend and found myself strangely attracted to the weirdest stuff. At first, I just unknowingly let it control me. I browsed through various stores, always pausing to finger some dress or top that I could never, not in a bilillion years, pull off wearing. Later, I noticed this erratic behavior and looked into the depths of my brain for the reason.

THE REASON, LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, IS THAT WATCHING K-DRAMAS HAS SCREWED UP MY TASTES!!! I no longer make a beeline for the comfortable chill-out wear or the simple monochromic dresses. I used to see colorful dressy clothes in the store and mentally label them as ‘tacky’ shuddering at how girly they were. I’m not a rat, I like nice clothes, but only if they’re understated, simple and in a sensible color that wouldn’t look bad on me. I used to have it all figured out. I know my body type, and thought that anything other than what I’m used to wouldn’t suit me. I used to think that the simpler a dress was, the classier it looked. I still do think that, but the fact that the ‘other’ types of clothes are now calling to me is SCARY. I ended up buying a white lacy sleeveless top with a pearly rhinestoney work  at the neckline that looked SOOOO PWETTYYY… I think I need rehab. THIS IS SOMETHING I KNOW I WILL REGRET, because I am not a lithe, stick thin Asian girl with mile long legs. I know I’ll look like a cow with no taste, no, make that a fat pregnant cow with no taste, but I’m still doing it. Watching K-dramas turned out to have more side-effects than I thought. Fellow watchers, consider this a friendly warning from a fellow addict, in too deep to get out.

About thejawavillager

I am a mad scientist with an underground lab rivaling Dexter's that I will soon use to rule the world. Join my army or be killed in the aftermath.
This entry was posted in Korean stuff, Life, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Unforeseen side-effects: What K-dramas have done to me

  1. eva626 says:

    look what it has done to you!

    the HORROR

  2. alua says:

    You know, I think that’s okay. I think you can inhabit different personalities with the clothes you wear. It’s fun to play around like that. It’s called ‘dressing up’ (pun intended) for a reason :-).

    I like my sporty clothes (because I’m a runner and a cyclist), but also like my girly clothes (some lace – if not in excess – I think rocks). I have got plenty of black clothes (too many, my Mom would say) and like that dark look too, but I have also got brightly coloured kurtas from India. Heck, I have even got a saree in colours I would never otherwise wear in other-style clothing. But it’s soooo pretty. (I added that pic to my Flickr stream just for you btw.)

    Be daring. Try things out. You might enjoy wearing some clothes more than you’d expect beforehand. And don’t put yourself down!

    (By the way, of the bottom row of dresses you posted, I like the 3rd and the 6th one. Especially the 6th one.)

    • Haha, yes. You’re totally right. Moms ensure the fact that we don’t have too much of one thing in our wardrobe. That saree is prettyyy!!! My mom has a few really glitzy ones.
      I am looking forward to experimenting some more. 🙂

  3. Mai Ward says:

    That was so funny! I don’t think there’s anything wrong with you when your taste changes. And it should because we all grow up *cough*
    You know, last night I was cleaning up my closet to give away the clothes that I don’t want anymore. I had many pieces with the price tag still attached! My husband asked me why would I want to give brand new clothes away? I told him that my taste changed and that I don’t like them anymore….my taste changed a few days after I bought them :/ what can I do!

  4. sami116 says:

    I think this is what Darwin used to call, Evolution.

    Don’t worry its just a phase, it’ll pass 🙂

  5. Raine says:

    BTW, love your banner! with the abstract art! Looks like Kadinsky.

    The one thing I really dislike about K-dramas is how they make this huge deal of being bone thing. I’m a super super voluptuous woman who doesn’t look that way. I’m sorry. I’m still attractive. And I like pretty things. Welcome to the dark (light) side. You can still be evil and wear frillies. Actually I’m not huge on frillies. I like button-down, sleeker things, but still pretty. Can I see the shirt?

Leave a Reply

